Tryon Prize for Art

The Tryon Prize is a monetary prize awarded by a jury for outstanding work in installation, performance, video, sound, digital or interactive art. Any Smith student may compete for the prize.

The Tryon Prize is named for Dwight W. Tryon, painter, professor of art at Smith College from 1886 to 1923, and benefactor of the Smith College Museum of Art (SCMA). The Tryon Prize is endowed by members of SCMA’s Visiting Committee.

Submission Guidelines

Submit up to five images (jpg) and/or up to five minutes of video. You must also include a separate cover sheet with your name, class year, campus address, e-mail, phone, title of work, and a statement describing the concept and development of the work. If the work was created for a class, include a description of the assignment. Send your submission to Tryon Art at*Submission must be received no later than Friday, May 1st.* 

Contact: 413.585.2677 or

Download (pdf)  TryonPrizes

Tryon Prize Award for Art


Marta Rudolph, AC '14J

  • A Quercus Tale (site-specific installation)

Honorable Mention:

Izabel Nielsen, '14

  • 131 Hours (video) 

Emma Sisson, '16

  • Slice of Life (animation) 

Yingying Deng. '16

  • The Hive (installation) 


No Awards


Sarah Meikle, AC

  • Inside Out: the insecurity project (installation/website/audio)

Sofia Sanchez ‘12J

  • Open Those Eyes (performance)

Honorable Mention:

Esther Kwon ’12

  • Lost (digital portrait series)

Kendyll Gage-Ripa ’12

  • Face (social media/installation)


Lucia Carroll ’11

  • Memorial (video/installation)

Second Prize

Alix Korn ‘11

  • Body Memory (video/performance)


Ellen Feiss ‘10

  • 34 Slides of Unknowable Places: A Lesson from the Tappan Collection

Second Prize

Jennifer Sochin Connor AC

  • Trilogy (installation)


No entries were selected for an award.


Kika Gilbert ’08 (digital art)


Lila Dodge ‘09 & Rose Baldwin ‘09

  • Tendency, Intention, Tendency, Intention (video/performance)

Kelsey Siepser ‘07

  • Eleusis (video)

Abby Walton ’07

  • Vertigo (installation)

Tryon Prize for Art established in 2007.