Celebrating Collaborations
Otelia Cromwell Day
Sherrerd Teaching Prizes
sherrerd Day
Smith in the World
Mountain Day
Julia Child Day
Rally Day

Related Links

THE Smith College Medal

Smith College Medal

In 1962, the trustees of Smith College voted to establish the Smith College Medal. It is given annually to those alumnae who, in the judgment of the trustees, exemplify in their lives and work the true purpose of a liberal arts education. A committee made up of representatives of the trustees, the faculty and the alumnae recommends candidates for the award to the board of trustees. Those chosen receive their medals at Rally Day each year.

The medal was designed by noted sculptor and printmaker Elliot M. Offner, who taught at Smith from 1960 until his retirement in 2004. The medal depicts the Grécourt Gates and the Smith College motto, To Virtue, Knowledge.

Medal Committee 2016–17

Judith Milestone ’66, Chair

Lisa Ilka Abrams ’90

Neelum Amin ’86

Judy Johnson Campagnari ’85

Nancy Fenn Dietz ’66

Holly Gonzalez ’81

Audrey Paek ’92

Laila Plamondon Sacco ’08

Ex Officio Members

Jennifer Chrisler ’92, Vice President for Alumnae Relations and Executive Director of the Alumnae Association

Patricia Marten DiBartolo ’89, Professor of Psychology; Faculty Representative

Stacie Hagenbaugh, Director, Lazarus Center for Career Development

Amy Holich Moscaritolo AC’05, Office of Alumnae Relations