Smith College Admission Academics Student Life About Smith news Offices
Educational Outreach
 

STAFF BIOGRAPHIES

Group Photo

Julio Alves is Director of the Center. He has a B.A. in comparative literature and a Ph.D. in applied linguistics, both from Boston University. email: jalves@smith.edu

Group Photo

Debra Carney is the Mid-Semester Assessment Specialist at the Center and teaches writing and public speaking. Debra also administers and teaches in the Writing Program of the Smith College School for Social Work. Additionally, she provides faculty development at the Royal University of Phnom Penh and the National Institute of Education in Cambodia, projects funded by both Smith and Fulbright. She writes fiction and non-fiction and received her BA and MFA in English from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. email: dcarney@smith.edu

Group Photo

Holly Davis is a Writing Counselor at the Center and a Lecturer in the English Department. She teaches English 118 Colloquium in Writing. She is the co-author of The Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry, part of the Pearson Longman Short Guide Series. She completed her B.A. in English at Wittenberg University, her M.A. in English at the State University of New York at Albany, and several years of doctoral study in Rhetoric and Composition at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. email: hdavis@smith.edu

Group Photo Sara Eddy is a Writing Counselor at the Center and a Lecturer in the English Department. She has a B.A. in English from Connecticut College and a Ph.D in English from Tufts University. email: seddy@smith.edu
Group Photo Naila Moreira is a Writing Counselor at the Center, specializing in science writing, and a Lecturer in the English Department. She has written science, environmental, and general journalism for Science News, The Boston Globe, The Seattle Times, and other publications. She received her B.A. from Amherst College and her Ph.D. from the University of Michigan, both in geology. email: nmoreira@smith.edu
Group Photo Peter Sapira received his B.A in English from San Francisco State University, and his MFA in English from The University of Massachusetts. Before coming to Smith, Peter taught at Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, Bay Path College, and Manchester Community College. Peter teaches introductory writing courses for English. email: psapira@smith.edu
Group Photo Gail Thomas is a Learning Specialist and Coordinator of Tutorial Services. A former English teacher, she earned her M.Ed. from Lesley University and has published two books of poetry. Her poems have also been published in many literary journals and anthologies. To make an appointment, email: gmthomas@smith.edu
Group Photo Brian Turner is a Writing Counselor at the Center. A published writer and artist, he received his B.A. in English from American International College and his M.F.A. in English from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. email: bturner@smith.edu

Writing

Teaching

Learning

News and Updates

Mission Statement

Staff

Links

Contact Us

 
DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z